The Name Game

New blog by our Youth Transgender Voice!

Voice of Transgender Youth

There are a variety of ways to approach the subject of our names- how or why they were given to us, how we feel about them, what we might do with them. Our names are what presents us to the world, and are the labels of our likeness. So of course it’s fitting that we want one to fit ourselves. I’m not speaking necessarily about switching from one gender specific name to another, I’m saying the names we may choose for ourselves should be ones we’re happy with.
When I chose to change my name to Sebastian, it wasn’t a spontaneous decision. I contemplated and debating and even researched it, and it finally came down to my own personal connotation with Sebastian that had me choose it. For the longest time I was stuck between that and Dereck, but after thinking it over for the millionth time, I realized that…

View original post 195 more words

Leave a Reply

