A Culture of Violence (Violence Warning)

Voice of American Women's Rights

I must admit that the preeminent reason that I stay on “the straight and narrow” is the deterrent effect of prison. There have been times when I have considered actions that might be illegal, but the thought of going to prison slowed me right down!

I wish that I could say that I am a non-violent individual, but I cannot. I often think about doing really bad things to people; but I don’t because … well, I don’t want to be incarcerated.

Over the last several weeks there have been many conversations about what is, and is not domestic violence. Some folks reference their families of origin as a rationale for their behavior. This has caused me to think about this thing called “a culture of violence”.

My mother would relate the following story to me as I was growing up: My Great-Aunt Bess was often abused by her husband…

View original post 916 more words

Leave a Reply

